2019 Spike Jorgensen Scholarship Winners!

The Coalition for Education Equityis very pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of the Spike Jorgensen Scholarship. Congratulations to Devan Otton, Nome Public Schools, and Dakota Sipary, Saint Mary’s School District. Each will receive $1000 toward their post-secondary education during the 2019-2020 academic year, renewable for up to a total of four years.

Our scholarship committee carefully reviewed all applications to select the two deserving recipients. All agreed that it was an honor to read every application, and as usual, the final selection was very challenging. This experience gives us greater insight into the strength, intelligence, dedication and kindness of Alaskan students and you all continue to inspire us. It is also heartening to hear about the opportunities students are being afforded in our school districts, and experience how well they are being prepared for the next phase of their lives.

2019 Spike Jorgensen Scholarship Award Recipients:

Devan Otton is a 2019 graduate of Nome-Beltz Jr/Sr High School. He is described as a kind and respectful person and dedicated student who is viewed as a leader by school staff and students. Devan was a student athlete in Nome, playing basketball and running cross-country. He also served as student body president and wrote for the yearbook and student newspaper. Devan is attending University of Alaska Fairbanks and studying Computer Science.

Dakota Sipary, is a 2019 of Saint Mary’s High School. An active participant in her school’s athletic programs and student government, Dakota is described as a thoughtful, intelligent, and creative person with a demonstrated commitment and dedication to her scholarly duties. She has a positive impact on her fellow students and community members. Dakota plans to become a counselor, and believes that as a female Alaska Native counselor, she can have a positive impact in her community. She is attending University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Thank you to our member school districts for sharing this scholarship opportunity, and for the preparation and encouragement you have provided to your students. And congratulations to Dakota and Devan!