Congratulations to the 2018 Spike Jorgensen Scholarship Recipients!

The Coalition for Education Equity is very pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of the Spike Jorgensen Scholarship. Congratulations to Mitchell Luke, St. Mary’s City School District, and Kaylen Jones, Lower Kuskokwim School District. Each will receive $1000 toward their post-secondary education during the 2017-2018 academic year, renewable for up to a total of four years.

This year, our scholarship committee carefully reviewed 25 applications to select the two recipients. All commented on the high quality of this year’s applicants, which made the selection very challenging. Committee members felt that it was a true privilege to read the applications and see the dedication, kindness, intelligence, and promise of students from across Alaska. It is also exciting to hear about the opportunities students are being afforded in our school districts, and see how well they are being prepared for the next phase of their lives.

2018 Spike Jorgensen Scholarship Award Recipients:

Mitchell Luke is St. Mary’s City school district salutatorian for the graduating class of 2018. He has worked hard in school and also in extracurricular activities, winning academic and athletic awards. He also helps his family with trapping, subsistence hunting, and commercial and subsistence fishing. Mitchell loves traveling the state by plane and plans to become an Airplane Mechanic, understanding how critical airplane travel is for rural Alaska and seeing the need for skilled technicians. Mitchell will be attending University of Alaska Anchorage.

Kaylen Jones, from Quinhagak, Alaska, is a graduating senior from Kuinerrarmiut Elitnaurviat School in the Lower Kuskokwim school district. Kaylen loves literature, writing, and learning. In addition to being a school leader, Kaylen has participated in the LKSD Film Academy, Multimedia Journalism course, and interned with KYUK. She has a passion for journalism, photography, and cinematography and will be studying Digital Filmmaking and Video Production at the Art Institute of San Francisco. Kaylen plans to make films that capture the beauty of nature and her home community and state, and documentaries that raise awareness of local and global issues.

Thank you to our member school districts for sharing this scholarship opportunity, and for the preparation and encouragement you have provided to your students!

 A special thank you to the 2017 Scholarship Review Committee:  Barbara Adams, Jerry Covey, and Sarah Sledge, for their time and dedication to this effort. The Spike Jorgensen Scholarship honors the work of Dr. Jorgensen’s long career of teaching and advocating for young people in rural Alaska.