Dan Walker, President

Superintendent, Lower Kuskokwim School District (Bethel)

Daniel Walker is the superintendent of the Lower Kuskokwim School District headquartered in Bethel, Alaska.  Dan has worked in LKSD for the past 24 years as a teacher, principal, assistant superintendent and superintendent.  He has been an innovator in increasing access to technology in an effort to break down barriers for students in LKSD.  He places a strong emphasis on building positive relationships at all levels to establish a strong foundation for trust among all stakeholders.



Norma Holmgaard, Vice-President 

Superintendent, Kashunamiut School District (Chevak) 

Norma Holmgaard has been an educator since 1980. She has been a teacher, assistant principal, principal, district level administrator and superintendent. Her service in Alaska has spanned 26 years with 9 of those years serving rural Alaska school districts. Norma is currently the Superintendent for the Kashunamiut School District located in Chevak, Alaska.



Annmarie O’Brien, Secretary-Treasurer 

Superintendent, Northwest Arctic Borough School District (Kotzebue) 

Dr. Annmarie O’Brien moved to Alaska in 1976 and taught at Mikelnguut Elitnaurviat (M.E.) in Bethel for eight years before taking time off to complete her doctorate studies. Her career has spanned working as a university supervisor for teachers training to work with at-risk students, a research associate at ISER/UAA, a principal, and university adjunct faculty. Annmarie has worked in NWABSD since 1999 and has served as their Director of Curriculum and Instruction and Assistant Superintendent. She is currently in her third year as superintendent.



Rayna Hartz, Member-at-Large 

Superintendent, Yupiit School District (Akiachak)